Jeanne-Ruth Terrisse — Interview Passion Supply Chain

Jeanne-Ruth Ter­risse, Sup­ply Chain Meth­ods Man­ag­er at CHOMARAT TEXTILES INDUSTRIES has joined ALOER Con­sul­tants, the glob­al sup­ply chain expert firm. Her mis­sions are to orga­nize and devel­op the third-par­ty appli­ca­tion main­te­nance of the ERP Infor Blend­ing.

Her exper­tise in con­cepts, her expe­ri­ence in Sup­ply Chain meth­ods and con­tin­u­ous improve­ment as well as his knowl­edge of pro­duc­tion process­es enrich the team of consultants.

Pas­sion­ate about ori­en­teer­ing, ren­o­va­tion of old causse­nard hous­es and a for­mi­da­ble hand­ball play­er, Jeanne-Ruth lends her­self today to the Pas­sion Sup­ply Chain interview. 

Interview Passion Supply Chain

Jeanne-Ruth, we would like to know a lit­tle more about you and your job… 

What job did you dream of when you were a child?

When I was a child, my dream was to work in a med­ical profession.

Tell us about your studies and your atypical school career

My par­ents’ busi­ness led us to move sev­er­al times. Orig­i­nal­ly from Nor­mandy, I have lived in the Alli­er, Can­tal, Ardèche, and Isère. These moves have cer­tain­ly opened my mind and giv­en me a taste for trav­el. So, before I fin­ished high school, I decid­ed to go to Eng­land as an au pair and to take my Bac­calau­re­ate by cor­re­spon­dence. It was a great expe­ri­ence. Back in France, I decid­ed to con­tin­ue my stud­ies in inter­na­tion­al trade.

What was the trigger or experience that led you to become interested in Supply Chain?

At the end of my school­ing, I had the oppor­tu­ni­ty to join CHOMARAT TEXTILES INDUSTRIES, a com­pa­ny in the tex­tile indus­try as an export sales assis­tant. This fam­i­ly busi­ness gave me the oppor­tu­ni­ty to grow with­in the com­pa­ny. Thus, I was able to work in the dif­fer­ent depart­ments of the com­pa­ny: sales, plan­ning and sched­ul­ing, and pro­cure­ment dur­ing the first years.

After­wards, I par­tic­i­pat­ed in the devel­op­ment of the infor­ma­tion sys­tem under AS400, and final­ly, I was in charge of the Sup­ply Chain methods.

The choice to work in the Sup­ply Chain was very quick­ly obvi­ous to me. First of all, it uses prac­ti­cal­ly all the data in the infor­ma­tion sys­tem: mas­ter data, man­age­ment para­me­ters, trans­ac­tions, sales fore­casts, sched­ules, sim­u­la­tions, opti­miza­tions, flow mon­i­tor­ing, report­ing, etc. This is an area that I have mas­tered well. In addi­tion, it pro­vides a link between the var­i­ous depart­ments of the com­pa­ny: sales, mar­ket­ing, finance, pro­duc­tion and distribution.

Sup­ply Chain implies a real con­sen­sus of the ser­vices to reach a com­mon goal. And as I do not like to be con­fined to a sin­gle prob­lem, the link between ERP with data and Sup­ply Chain, a trans­verse and col­lab­o­ra­tive busi­ness, came naturally.

What are the essential qualities for your job?

To work in Sup­ply Chain, you have to like to touch every­thing. You have to be a Swiss Army knife capa­ble of under­stand­ing dif­fer­ent issues and ana­lyz­ing the inter­ac­tions between the var­i­ous players.

Appre­ci­ate work­ing togeth­er and in con­sul­ta­tion is essential.

Your biggest challenge?

After 28 years in the tex­tile indus­try, decid­ing to change careers at age 50 was a real chal­lenge for me and a sol­id fam­i­ly project.

Today, I have to learn new tools and, above all, under­stand new pro­duc­tion process­es. Each client has its own issues and reg­u­la­tions. This is par­tic­u­lar­ly the case in the chem­i­cal, phar­ma­ceu­ti­cal and food indus­tries. It’s real­ly reward­ing and moti­vat­ing for me.

What is your proudest achievement?

The instal­la­tion of the S&OP process man­age­ment soft­ware.

Imple­ment­ing a fore­cast­ing and plan­ning tool such as Infor IBP (Inte­grat­ed Busi­ness Process) in a com­pa­ny where the exist­ing tools no longer met the needs, required a huge invest­ment in time and energy.

I had to quick­ly get up to speed on this soft­ware. Then I had to adapt it to our own prob­lems. I could then count on my ener­gy to moti­vate and train the teams and of course, to accom­pa­ny them in the change. The sat­is­fac­tion of see­ing the good results obtained, makes me say that it was real­ly worth it. Unfor­tu­nate­ly, the health cri­sis sus­pend­ed the deploy­ment of the last mod­ule of the tool.

What are the difficulties related to the nature of your job?

It is prob­a­bly the man­age­ment of inter­ac­tions between ser­vices. My inter­locu­tors are often users of IT solu­tions. They don’t know the tech­nique behind each action. They often have dif­fi­cul­ty express­ing their needs or pro­ject­ing them­selves onto dif­fer­ent modes of operation.

It is up to us to deci­pher and ana­lyze their needs and to remove the obsta­cles to change that the use of a new soft­ware implies.

If you had to describe your job in one image?

A Swiss Army knife with­out hesitation! Swiss Army Knife

With the digital revolution of the Supply Chain professions, the stakes are exciting. What is your point of view?

The health cri­sis has clear­ly high­light­ed the impor­tance for com­pa­nies to adapt quick­ly to unprece­dent­ed sit­u­a­tions. Only com­pa­nies equipped with dig­i­tal tools and flex­i­ble busi­ness process­es have the abil­i­ty to find new mod­els to opti­mize their sup­ply chain, includ­ing reduc­ing lead times, man­ag­ing inven­to­ry lev­els, etc.

Thus, com­pa­nies for which the sup­ply chain is at the heart of the process can work col­lab­o­ra­tive­ly in real time on cus­tomer demand, sales fore­casts, their own pro­duc­tion capac­i­ties and those of their sup­pli­ers, and thus meet mar­ket require­ments in a high­ly volatile environment.

Thank you Jeanne for par­tic­i­pat­ing in the Pas­sion Sup­ply Chain interview.

Cette pub­li­ca­tion est égale­ment disponible en : Français (French)

Jeanne-Ruth Terrisse – Interview Passion Supply Chain

Jeanne-Ruth Ter­risse, Res­pon­sable Méthodes Sup­ply Chain chez CHOMARAT TEXTILES INDUSTRIES a rejoint ALOER Consul­tants, le cabi­net d’experts en Sup­ply Chain glo­bale. Elle a pour mis­sions l’organisation et le déve­lop­pe­ment de la tierce main­te­nance appli­ca­tive de l’ERP Infor Blen­ding.

Son exper­tise des concepts, son expé­rience des méthodes Sup­ply Chain et de l’amélioration conti­nue ain­si que sa connais­sance des pro­cé­dés de pro­duc­tion viennent enri­chir l’équipe de consultants.

Pas­sion­née de courses d’o­rien­ta­tion, de réno­va­tion d’an­ciennes mai­sons caus­se­nardes et redou­table hand­bal­leuse, Jeanne-Ruth se prête aujourd’hui à l’in­ter­view Pas­sion Sup­ply Chain. 

Interview Passion Supply Chain

Jeanne-Ruth, on aime­rait en savoir un peu plus sur toi et ton métier… 

Quel métier te faisait rêver lorsque tu étais enfant ?

Lorsque j’étais enfant, mon rêve était d’exercer une pro­fes­sion médicale.

Parle-nous de tes études et de ton parcours scolaire atypique

Le métier de mes parents nous a ame­nés à démé­na­ger à plu­sieurs reprises. Ori­gi­naire de Nor­man­die, j’ai vécu dans l’Allier, le Can­tal, l’Ardèche, et l’Isère. Ces démé­na­ge­ments m’ont cer­tai­ne­ment ouvert l’esprit et don­né le goût des voyages. Aus­si, avant la fin de mes études secon­daires, j’ai déci­dé de  par­tir en Angle­terre comme jeune fille au pair et de pas­ser mon Bac par cor­res­pon­dance. Ç’a été une superbe expé­rience. De retour en France, j’ai déci­dé de pour­suivre mes études en com­merce international.

Quel a été le déclic ou l’expérience qui t’a amenée à t’intéresser à la Supply Chain ?

A la fin de mon cur­sus sco­laire, j’ai eu l’opportunité d’intégrer CHOMARAT TEXTILES INDUSTRIES, une socié­té de l’industrie tex­tile en tant qu’assistance com­mer­ciale export. Cette socié­té fami­liale m’a don­né la pos­si­bi­li­té d’évoluer au sein de l’entreprise. Ain­si, j’ai pu tra­vailler dans les dif­fé­rents ser­vices de l’entreprise : l’ADV, la pla­ni­fi­ca­tion et l’ordonnancement, l’approvisionnement les pre­mières années.

Par la suite, j’ai par­ti­ci­pé au déve­lop­pe­ment du sys­tème d’information sous AS400, et enfin, j’ai été char­gée des méthodes Sup­ply Chain.

Ce choix de tra­vailler dans la Sup­ply Chain s’est très vite impo­sé à moi. Tout d’abord, elle uti­lise pra­ti­que­ment toutes les don­nées du sys­tème d’in­for­ma­tion : don­nées de base, para­mètres de ges­tion, tran­sac­tions, pré­vi­sions de vente, plan­nings, simu­la­tions, opti­mi­sa­tions, sui­vi des flux, repor­ting, etc. C’est un domaine que je maî­trise bien. En outre, elle per­met de faire le lien entre les dif­fé­rents ser­vices de l’entreprise : le com­merce, le mar­ke­ting, les finances, la pro­duc­tion et la distribution.

La Sup­ply Chain implique un réel consen­sus des ser­vices pour atteindre un objec­tif com­mun.  Et comme j’aime ne pas être can­ton­née à une seule pro­blé­ma­tique, le lien entre l’ERP avec les datas et la Sup­ply Chain, métier trans­verse et col­la­bo­ra­tif s’est fait naturellement.

Quelles sont les qualités essentielles pour exercer ton métier ?

Pour tra­vailler dans la Sup­ply Chain, il faut aimer tou­cher à tout. Il faut être un cou­teau suisse capable de com­prendre des pro­blé­ma­tiques dif­fé­rentes et d’analyser les inter­ac­tions entre les dif­fé­rents acteurs.

Appré­cier le tra­vail en col­la­bo­ra­tion et en concer­ta­tion est indispensable.

Ton plus gros challenge ?

Après 28 ans pas­sés dans l’industrie tex­tile, déci­der à 50 ans de chan­ger de car­rière, a été un véri­table chal­lenge pour moi et un solide pro­jet familial.

Aujourd’hui, je dois me for­mer à de nou­veaux outils et sur­tout, com­prendre de nou­veaux pro­cess de pro­duc­tion. Chaque client à ses propres pro­blé­ma­tiques et ses régle­men­ta­tions. C’est notam­ment le cas dans la chi­mie, l’industrie phar­ma­ceu­tique ou encore, l’agroalimentaire. C’est vrai­ment enri­chis­sant et moti­vant pour moi.

De quelle réalisation es-tu fière ?

L’installation du logi­ciel de ges­tion du pro­ces­sus S&OP.

Mettre en place un outil de pré­vi­sion et de pla­ni­fi­ca­tion tel qu’Infor IBP (Inte­gra­ted Busi­ness Pro­cess) dans une entre­prise où les outils uti­li­sés ne répon­daient plus aux besoins, a deman­dé un énorme inves­tis­se­ment en temps et en énergie.

J’ai dû rapi­de­ment mon­ter en com­pé­tences sur ce logi­ciel. Puis, il m’a fal­lu l’adapter à nos propres pro­blé­ma­tiques. J’ai alors pu comp­ter sur mon éner­gie pour moti­ver et for­mer les équipes et bien enten­du, les accom­pa­gner au chan­ge­ment. La satis­fac­tion de voir les bons résul­tats obte­nus, me fait dire que cela valait vrai­ment la peine. Hélas, la crise sani­taire est venue sus­pendre le déploie­ment du der­nier module de l’outil.

Quelles sont les difficultés liées à la nature de ton métier ?

C’est pro­ba­ble­ment la ges­tion des inter­ac­tions entre les ser­vices. Mes inter­lo­cu­teurs sont sou­vent des uti­li­sa­teurs de solu­tions infor­ma­tiques. Ils ne connaissent pas la tech­nique qu’il y a der­nière chaque action. Ils ont sou­vent du mal à expri­mer leurs besoins ou à se pro­je­ter sur des modes de fonc­tion­ne­ment différents.

C’est à nous de déchif­frer et d’analyser leurs besoins et de lever les freins au chan­ge­ment qu’implique l’utilisation d’un nou­veau logiciel.

Si tu devais décrire ton métier en une image ?

Un cou­teau suisse sans hésiter ! 

  Couteau Suisse

Avec la révolution digitale des métiers de la Supply Chain, les enjeux sont passionnants. Quel est ton point de vue ?

La crise sani­taire a clai­re­ment mis en exergue l’importance pour les entre­prises de s’adapter rapi­de­ment à des situa­tions inédites. Seules les entre­prises dotées d’outils digi­taux et de pro­ces­sus métiers flexibles ont la capa­ci­té à trou­ver de nou­veaux modèles afin d’optimiser leur Sup­ply Chain et notam­ment la réduc­tion de délais, la ges­tion des niveaux de stock, …

Ain­si, les entre­prises pour les­quelles la Sup­ply Chain est au cœur des pro­ces­sus peuvent pré­tendre tra­vailler col­la­bo­ra­ti­ve­ment en temps réel sur la demande des clients, les pré­vi­sions de vente, les capa­ci­tés de pro­duc­tion en propre ain­si que celles de leurs four­nis­seurs et répondre ain­si aux exi­gences des mar­chés dans un envi­ron­ne­ment très volatile.

Mer­ci Jeanne d’a­voir par­ti­ci­pé à l’in­ter­view Pas­sion Sup­ply Chain.

 

 

Cette publi­ca­tion est éga­le­ment dis­po­nible en : English (Anglais)